Mooresville-South Iredell NAACP

Passionately committed to advancing the cause of racial equity and social justice.

Ensure equality and help eliminate racial discrimination now and in the future.

     The 14th Amendment: The Definition

        of Citizenship in the United States

The Fourteenth Amendment, approved by the Senate on June 8, 1866, and ratified on July 9, 1868, granted citizenship to all individuals "born or naturalized in the United States," including formerly enslaved people. It ensured all citizens received "equal protection under the laws," extending the Bill of Rights' provisions to the states. The amendment allowed the government to penalize states that restricted citizens' voting rights by reducing their representation in Congress accordingly. It barred those involved in insurrection against the United States from holding any civil, military, or elected office without a two-thirds majority approval from both the House and Senate. Additionally, it forbade former Confederate states from repaying war debts or compensating former slave owners for freed enslaved people. The amendment empowered Congress to enforce its provisions, leading to significant legislation like the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965. Ratification of the Fourteenth Amendment was a requirement for former Confederate states to regain federal representation.

History of the

Mooresville-South Iredell NAACP

The Mooresville-South Iredell Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) was established in the late 1930s, with thirty members. Mrs. Odessa Carr was the organization’s first president.

After her tenure, Theodore Thomas and Oates Campbell served as head of the chapter. Rev. Curtis E. Johnson is the current president.

The chapter has constantly worked quietly for the advancement of black people as well as the entire community. The members of the chapter were thankful that the Mooresville community was one of the first to open its doors to everyone without any negative outcomes.

Under the successful leadership of President Norris Graham, the branch made great strides and satisfactory achievements in recreation, housing, and other areas that came about through a united community effort. The NAACP was acknowledged as the most effective organization in working for political and social equality.

The Mooresville-South Iredell Branch of the NAACP expressed its utmost gratitude to the late Rev. John E. McKenzie, who served as the organization’s “Rock of Gibraltar”, with his vibrant personality and leadership skills.

The objectives of all levels and all units of the NAACP are:

  • · To eliminate racial discrimination and segregation from all aspects of public life in America.

  • · To secure a free ballot for every qualified American citizen.

  • · To seek justice in the courts.

  • · To secure legislation banning discrimination and segregation.

  • · To secure equal job opportunities based upon individual merits without regard to race, religion, or national origin.

  • · To end mob violence and police brutality.

Lift Every Voice and Sing is the official song of the NAACP.

NAACP spells out the trials of black Americans and the triumphs they have known, largely through the efforts of the NAACP.

The Mooresville-South Iredell branch of the NAACP is worthy of far more than a passing glance. The branch was and is a source of pride and inspiration under the leadership of its officers then and now.

Mrs. Odessa Carr

Rev. John E. McKenzie

Rev. Curtis Johnson

Our Mission

The mission of the Mooresville/South Iredell branch of the NAACP is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of all citizens and to eliminate racial discrimination. We work tirelessly to empower individuals, advocate for change, and foster a more inclusive society.

Black Mooresville: The Untold Story

"We Just Knew Our Place"

Write your text here...

Regular Meetings

In-person meetings start April 2024 at 7:00 p.m. at 1020 Briarhill Road, Mooresville (W.H. Bryant Funeral Home)

Executive Board members are

asked to meet at 6:30 p.m.

Executive Board Members

Curtis Johnson, President

Randy Cherry, 1st Vice President

Tina Bolar, Secretary

Eva Johnson, Assistant Secretary

Pam Bryant, Treasurer

Brittany Westmoreland, Assistant Treasurer

Adele Harrison, Membership Chairperson

Contact Us